Facebook icon
Twitter icon
e-mail icon

UNP cancels membership of those who joined Samagi Jana Balawegaya

The United National Party (UNP) has cancelled the membership of 99 members who joined the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB), which includes the membership of deputy leader Sajith Premadasa.

The SJB is a breakaway political fraction which seeks to contest the 2020 Sri Lankan elections which have been postponed due to the outbreak of the coronavirus.

This decision will mean that Premadasa will lose his position as deputy leader, electoral organiser, and his position within the Working Committee. Senior party members such as Lakshman Kiriella, Kabir Hashim, Mangala Samaraweera, Gayantha Karunatilaka, Thalatha Athukorala, Ranjith Madduma Bandara, and several others who had served as cabinet members under the Sirisena administration, have also had their membership revoked.

The Working Committee has also ratified the appointment of 8 new members these include Sandith Samarasinghe, Palitha Thewarapperuma, Prof. Ashu Marasinghe, Shanthini Kongahage, Nalaka Kolonne, Chanaka Illeperuma, Azmi Thassim and Kasthuri Anuradhanayake.

Read more FT Lk and Colombo Page.