Facebook icon
Twitter icon
e-mail icon

Sri Lanka appoints commissioners to OMP as HRC37 commences

Just as the UN Human Rights Council's 37th session commences in Geneva, the Sri Lankan president appointed commissioners to the Office of Missing Persons (OMP). 

Mr Saliya Pieris was appointed as the Chairman of the Commission. Other commissioners included Ms Jayatheepa Punniyamoorthy, Major General (Rtd.) Mohanti Antonette Peiris, Dr Sriyani Nimalka Fernando, Mr Mirak Raheem, Mr Somasiri K Liyanage, Mr Somasiri K Liyanage and Mr Kanapathipillai Venthan. 

The appointments have been widely criticised by Tamil civil society groups for the inclusion of military personnel and the presence of only two Tamil commissioners. The OMP itself was also criticised for failing to ensure aqdequate consultations. 

The commissioners will serve for a three year period.