Facebook icon
Twitter icon
e-mail icon

Sri Lanka's Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe agrees to resign

Following a wave of protests in Sri Lanka's capital earlier today, the recently appointed Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe has agreed to resign.

Wickremesinghe has stated on Twitter,

Wickremesinghe has served as Prime Minister of Sri Lanka from 1993 to 1994, 2001 to 2004, 2015 to 2015, 2015 to 2018, 2018 to 2019, and from May 2022 to the present day. He has served as Prime Minister six times despite only having one seat in parliament. 

Read more about his legacy here: The return of Ranil Wickremesinghe

Sri Lanka's embattled President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has not made a public statement.

The announcement follows an emergency meeting between all party leaders convened by the Speaker of Parliament. Here the majority of leaders agreed on four key actions.

1. President and Prime Minister to resign immediately 

2. Speaker to act for President for Maximum of 30 days

3. Parliament will elect an MP  as President for remained term

4. Appointment of an interim all-party government and elections to be held soon. 

This comes as reports have emerged that Sri Lanka's embattled president Gotabaya Rajapaksa has fled the island as tens of thousands of protesters stormed his official residence in Colombo this morning. 

Read more at newswire

We need your support

Sri Lanka is one of the most dangerous places in the world to be a journalist. Tamil journalists are particularly at threat, with at least 41 media workers known to have been killed by the Sri Lankan state or its paramilitaries during and after the armed conflict.

Despite the risks, our team on the ground remain committed to providing detailed and accurate reporting of developments in the Tamil homeland, across the island and around the world, as well as providing expert analysis and insight from the Tamil point of view

We need your support in keeping our journalism going. Support our work today.

For more ways to donate visit https://donate.tamilguardian.com.