Facebook icon
Twitter icon
e-mail icon

Sinhala hardliner selected by Sirisena to be on Constitutional Council

President Maithripala Sirisena has selected the leader of the Sinhala hard line JHU to represent him in the new government’s Constitutional Council.

Patali Champika Ranawaka, whose JHU plays an instrumental part in the UNP-led ruling coalition, will serve on the council which is responsible for establishing independent commissions.

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe nominated Minister of Justice Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe, who is also the minister for Buddhist affairs, to the council.

Under the 19th amendment to the constitution passed earlier this year, the Constitutional Council is responsible body for appointing members to independent commissions like the bribery commission and the election commission.

The 10-member council consists of the speaker, the prime minister, the opposition leader, four parliamentarians and three representatives from the civil society, while an MP nominated by the president will represent the head of state in the council.