Facebook icon
Twitter icon
e-mail icon

Gotabaya Rajapaksa declared Sri Lanka's new president

The Elections Commission declared Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) presidential candidate, Gotabaya Rajapaksa, as the new President. 

Elections Commission Chairman, Mahinda Deshapriya, formally announced that Gotabaya was the winner of the 2019 Sri Lankan Presidential election. Gotabaya secured 52% of the vote with a total of 6,924,255 votes. The SLPP said that Gotabaya will take his oaths tomorrow in Anuradhapura. 

Gotabaya, Sri Lanka's former Defence Secretary and accused war criminal, who oversaw the military offensive during the final phase of the armed conflict, has continuously rejected the United Nations Human Rights Council  (UNHRC) resolution on accountability for mass atrocities. 

We need your support

Sri Lanka is one of the most dangerous places in the world to be a journalist. Tamil journalists are particularly at threat, with at least 41 media workers known to have been killed by the Sri Lankan state or its paramilitaries during and after the armed conflict.

Despite the risks, our team on the ground remain committed to providing detailed and accurate reporting of developments in the Tamil homeland, across the island and around the world, as well as providing expert analysis and insight from the Tamil point of view

We need your support in keeping our journalism going. Support our work today.