Facebook icon
Twitter icon
e-mail icon

Finding new friends

The Sri Lankan government has announced that they will be establishing diplomatic relationships with 13 Latin American and Caribbean countries.

The move, proposed by External Affairs Minister GL Peiris, has been described as “another step forward in Sri Lanka's foreign policy".

The 13 countries are Guatemala, Suriname, Belize, Honduras, Nicaragua, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, Haiti, St Kits and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines.

Earlier this year, Sri Lanka closed a string of embassies in European countries that had voted against them on a resolution that was approved by United Nations Human Rights Commission (UNHRC).