Facebook icon
Twitter icon
e-mail icon

Batticaloa court bans seven individuals from participating in Maaveerar Naal commemorations

Kokkadichcholai police officer hands court order to former TNA MP  P Ariyenthran. Photograph courtesy of Pathivu.

Seven individuals, including Tamil MPs, have been banned from participating in any commemoration events to mark Maaveerar Naal. 

Batticaloa Magistrate Court issued an order following a request from Kokkdaichcholai police, banning individuals, including Tamil MPs from participating in events from November 20th to the 27th. Former Tamil National Alliance (TNA) MP Ariyenthran and TNA MP Shanakiyan Rasamanickam are amongst those included in the court order. 

Pathivu reported that the order also bans any events to celebrate the birthday of Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE) leader Velupillai Prabhakaran, which falls on November 26. 

This follows a series of court bans across the North-East prohibiting Tamil people from taking part in Maaveerar Naal commemorations. Sri Lanka's security forces have also ramped up their presence across the region in an attempt to stifle Tamil memorialisation. 

We need your support

Sri Lanka is one of the most dangerous places in the world to be a journalist. Tamil journalists are particularly at threat, with at least 41 media workers known to have been killed by the Sri Lankan state or its paramilitaries during and after the armed conflict.

Despite the risks, our team on the ground remain committed to providing detailed and accurate reporting of developments in the Tamil homeland, across the island and around the world, as well as providing expert analysis and insight from the Tamil point of view

We need your support in keeping our journalism going. Support our work today.

For more ways to donate visit https://donate.tamilguardian.com.