Facebook icon
Twitter icon
e-mail icon

Almost 2 months on, Sri Lanka finalises new cabinet

Almost two months after Sri Lanka's political crisis began, ministers in the new Cabinet took their oath before the president today, who holds on the defence portfolio. 

The sacked then reinstated, Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe will hold the ministry for northern development, rehabilitation and prison reform. 

Mangala Samaraweera will remain as Minister of Finances and Media, and Tilak Marapana as Minister of Foreign Affairs. 

Amongst those re-appointed to the cabinet are Ravi Karunayake, Sri Lanka’s former foreign minister who stepped down from the role amidst allegations of corruption.

Despite the appointments, doubts remain over the political stability of the country. 

See full list below: 

  • Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesighe – Ministry of National Policies and Economic Affairs, Ministry of Rehabilitation and Prison reforms, Northern Development, Vocational Training, Skill Development and Youth Affairs.
  • John Amaratunga – Minister of Tourism Development and Christian Religious Affairs.
  • Gamini Jayawickrema Perera- Minister of Buddha Sasana & North Western Province Development.
  • Mangala Samaraweera – Minister of Finances and Media
  • Lakshman Kiriella- Minister of Public Enterprise Development, Upcountry Heritage and Kandy Development
  • Rauff Hakeem – Minister of Town Planning, Water Supply and Higher Education
  • Tilak Marapana – Minister of Foreign Affairs
  • Rajitha Senarathne – Minister of Health, Nutrition and Indigenous Medicine
  • Ravi Karunanayake- Minister of Power and Energy and Business Development
  • Vajira Abeywardhane- Minister of Internal & Home Affairs, Provincial Councils and Local Government
  • Rishad Bathiudeen- Ministry of Industry and Commerce and Resettlement and Cooperative Development
  • Patali Champika Ranawaka- Ministry of Megapolis and Western Development
  • Naveen Dissanayake- Minister of Plantation Industries
  • P. Harrison- Minister of Agriculture, Rural Economic Affairs and Animal Husbandry Development.
  • Kabeer Hashim – Minister of Highways and Road Development and Petroleum Resources Development.
  • Ranjith Maddumabandara – Minister of Public Administration and Disaster Management
  • Gayantha Karunathilake – Minister of Lands and Parliamentary Reforms
  • Sajith Premadasa – Minister of Housing, Construction and Cultural affairs.
  • Arjuna Ranatunga – Minister of Transport and Civil Aviation
  • Palani Digambaran – Minister of Upcountry New Villages, Infrastructure and Community Development
  • Chandrani Bandara – Minister of Women and Child Affairs and Development of Dry Zones
  • Thalatha Athukorale – Minister of justice and Prison Reforms
  • Akila Viraj kariyawasam – Minister of Education
  • Abdul Haleem Mohamed Hashim – Minister of Postal Services and Muslim religious Affairs
  • Sagala Ratnayake – Minister of Ports, Maritime Affairs and Southern Development
  • Harin Fernando – Minister of Telecommunication, Digital Infrastructure facilities, Foreign Employment and Sports
  • Mano Ganeshan – Minister of National Integration, Official Languages, Social Progress and Hindu Religious Affairs
  • Daya Gamage – Minister of Labour, Trade Union Relations and Social Empowerment
  • Malik Samarawickrema – Minister of Development Strategies, International Trade, Science, Technology and Research.