Facebook icon
Twitter icon
e-mail icon

5 NFF parliamentarians leave constitutional assembly

Five parliamentarians, led by Wimal Weerawansa, announced this week their decision to leave the constitutional assembly, Adaderana reported. 

From the National Freedom Front, the five parliamentarians - Mr Weerawansa, Jayantha Samaraweera, Weerakumara Dissanayake, Niroshan Premaratne and Padma Udhaya Shantha Gunasekera - gave the speaker a written notice of their decision to leave. 

The constitutional assembly was formed in March 2016 where all 225 members of parliament would meet with the intention of drafting a proposal for a new constitution. 

Their exit comes after senior members of the Buddhist clergy together with the former president, Mahinda Rajapaksa expressed condemned the process arguing that the constitution did not need to be reformed in any way.