Facebook icon
Twitter icon
e-mail icon

4 Tamil political prisoners admitted to hospital after ongoing hunger strike

Four Tamil political prisoners who had been hunger striking in protest at their indefinite imprisonment, were admitted to hospital today. 

Sivasubramaniam Thillairaj and Thangavel Nimalan have been admitted to Anuradhapuram prison hospital, whilst Sooriyakanthi Jeyachandran and Rasapallavan T Rupan were admitted to Anuradhapuram teaching hospital. 

Eight Tamil political prisoners at Anuradhapura prison, M Sulaksan, E Thiruvarul, S Jeyachandran, R Rupan, S Thillairaj, E Jegan, S Sivaseelan and T Nirmalan, launched a hunger strike this month demanding they be released following a quick rehabilitation. 

A number of Tamil political prisoners remain in prison for years without charge under the Prevention of Terrorism Act (PTA). 

Tamils across the North-East have called for them to be released.