University of Colombo Science Teachers' Association (UCSTA)



Media Statement

President

Dr. Hiran Jayaweera

Secretary

Dr. Dharshani Bandupriya

Vice President

Dr. Rushan Abeygunawardena

Assist. Secretary

Dr. Anushka Wickramasuriya

Treasure

Dr. Ramal Cooray

Committee

Dr. Romaine Jayewardene

Dr. Aashani Tillekaratne

Prof. Inoka Perera

Dr. Ruwani Mayakaduwa

Dr. Jeyasugiththan

Dr. Kanishka Wijayaratna

Dr. Sameera Viswakula

Appointment of Chancellor – University of Colombo

Being the oldest Higher Education Institution in Sri Lanka, the University of Colombo prides itself of its heritage and its reputation as a centre of academic excellence in the country. The Chancellor is the titular Head of the University and represents the University to the external community. Even though the Chancellor's role is mostly ceremonial, the person who holds the position ideally should have a track record of flawless professional and personal integrity, whose reputation and credentials will assist the University in furthering its reputation and credibility nationally and internationally.

As such, the University of Colombo Science Teachers Associations (UCSTA) is greatly perturbed by the recent appointment of Ven Muruththettuwe Ananda Thero to the post of the Chancellor of the University of Colombo. We believe that the Thero's association with a well-known trade union and his political affiliations will not be helpful for advancing Universities' interests within the local, national and international spheres and express our extreme disappointment in this appointment.

Dr. Hiran H. E. Jayaweera

President UCSTA

Dr. H. D. Dharshani Bandupriya

Secretary UCSTA